Board of Directors

PJ Fox III (President)

  • Chief Operating Officer, The Institute for the Study and Practice of Nonviolence (RI)
  • Former Executive Director, Button Hole Golf Course and Teaching Center (Providence, RI)
  • Former Director of Operations; Former Director of Training and Special Projects, AmeriCorps for The Institute for the Study and Practice of Nonviolence
  • Extensive NPO management experience; responsible for $1.6 M budget; 50+ employees
  • Former baseball coach: Ireland National Team; freshman team, La Salle Academy, Prov., RI

Thomas J. Skala (Vice-President)

  • Retired President of Fleet National Bank (RI)
  • Expertise in finance, investments, fundraising, and development
  • Experience in legislative and governmental relations
  • Nonprofit board experience:
    • United Way of RI (1970-98); Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce (1975-90)
    • RI Public Expenditure Council (1972-98); Providence Children’s Museum (1985-90)
    • Providence College Board of Trustees (1992-2003); Roman Catholic Diocese (1970-95)

Aaron A. Spacone (Secretary)

  • Associate, Barton Gilman LLP
  • Former Law Clerk; Associate Justice Gilbert V. Indeglia; Rhode Island Supreme Court
  • Former Law Clerk; Connecticut Superior Court; Former legal intern; NLRB
  • Former Judicial Intern U.S. District Court of R.I., Chambers of Hon. William E. Smith
  • University of Connecticut School of Law, J.D. 2013; Law Review
  • Villanova University, 2010; Vice President, Club Tennis Team
  • 2-Time, First-Team Rhode Island All-State tennis player

Alfred J. Curnow (Treasurer)

  • Senior Consultant; High Performing Culture
  • Former marketing director; Companion Life Insurance
  • Long history in sales and marketing
  • Skilled speaker/presenter
  • Youth sports parent and coach
  • Former collegiate athlete
  • Member: East Greenwich (RI) Basketball Association Board of Directors

Christina Batastini

  • President and Head Instructor; Batastini School of Basketball; Motivational speaker
  • Former Parade and NIKE High School All-America basketball player at Classical H.S. in Providence
  • Former New England High School Gatorade Player-of-the-Year
  • Stanford University, Class of 2000; helped Cardinal win three Pac-10 titles and reached 1997 Final Four
  • Pro Basketball: Italy, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden; among league leaders: scoring, assists, 3-pt FG%
  • Coach: youth & high amateur athletes in Europe and U.S.; Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist
  • Harvard University; Master’s degree in Education
  • Member: New England Basketball Hall of Fame; Rhode Island Scholar-Athlete Hall-of-Fame
  • Named: One of the Most Influential Sports Figures in Rhode Island’s last one hundred years

Peter A. Brock

  • President, New England Patriots Alumni Club (2010-Present)
  • Former Parade High School All-America in football
  • University of Colorado; Co-Captain; Consensus All-American; Named to school’s All-Century team
  • NFL 1st Rd Draft Pick, New England Patriots; Played 12-seasons (1976-87); Started Super Bowl XX
  • Accomplished motivational speaker
  • Former Owner/President – Frontline Technologies (software consulting company)
  • Dedicated community and civic leader
  • Honors: NFL’s Unsung Hero Award (1979), Jim Lee Hunt Award (1984), Ed Block Courage Award (1985); Greater Boston Gridiron Club’s “Man of the Year” Award (2013); Hockomock Area YMCA “Legend Award” for his advocacy of children and individuals with disabilities (2013)

Charles W. (Chuck) Wilson (non-voting Director)

  • Founder and Executive Director of Even Field, Inc.
  • Named one of the “100 Most Influential Sports Educators in America”
  • Award-winning host, interviewer, commentator on ESPN Radio for 17-years
  • Named runner-up for “Best National Sports Radio Host of the Decade” (2000-09)
  • Broadcast career spanning 37-years, 20-years on national network radio
  • Member: Rhode Island Radio Hall-of-Fame; Words Unlimited Hall of Fame